I met Mr. Smith several years ago. Not only is he a great attorney, but now a good friend. I initially had him help me with family law matters and corporate matters and he always did an excellent job. One of the very few good attorneys left out there.
R.E. Las Vegas, Nevada
The staff at Discount Las Vegas Lawyer is very knowledgeable and was very helpful in guiding me through the divorce process. I was very impressed with the quick responses to my questions and the speed in which my divorce was finalized. Hopefully, I will not need this service again, but if I do I would use this attorney.
M. H. Las Vegas, Nevada
COMPLAINT FOR DIVORCE IN NEVADA
A one-signature divorce in Nevada is filed in the form of a Complaint for Divorce. One party acts as Plaintiff and the other party is known as the Defendant.
Basic court process for obtaining an uncontested divorce without the signature of the other party goes as follows:
- The complaint for divorce is filed with the court and a Summons issued
- Once the complaint is filed, the court requires that the Defendant be served with the Complaint for Divorce as well as the Summons.
- From the date of service, the Defendant has 21 calendar days to file an Answer and Counter Claim with the court.
- If the Defendant does not respond at all, a Default is submitted with the court.
- The court clerk will file the Default if all of the necessary steps have been taken to notify the Defendant of the divorce.
- Once the Default is granted, the Decree of Divorce goes to the judge for consideration.
- Once the judge signs the decree, and the clerk files it, your divorce becomes final.
If the Defendant files an Answer and Counterclaim, you now have a contested divorce. If this occurs, it becomes very important to retain a competent and experienced lawyer who practices Nevada family law in order to protect your rights.
Have you been unable to locate your spouse and want to file a divorce in Nevada anyway?
If you cannot locate your spouse, you may still obtain a divorce through a default process whereby the Defendant (your spouse) is served by publication. This involves attempted service on your spouse by a process server, at your spouse’s last-known address, followed by publication of the Summons in a newspaper. Once Publication (which goes on for five weeks) and a 21 calendar day wait after the last date of publication has ended, we can proceed by Default.
If I can’t find my spouse and I file a one-signature divorce, does this mean my divorce is contested?
- Though a defendant does not sign the divorce papers along with the Plaintiff, it does not mean that the Nevada divorce is contested.
- If a Defendant does nothing at all, meaning does not file an Answer and Counter Claim after the Nevada divorce is filed, the Nevada divorce is still considered to be uncontested.
- A Nevada divorce becomes contested ONLY when the defendant files an Answer and Counter Claim
1 SIGNATURE DIVORCE IN NEVADAOnly One Party Signs
- Full Service - Attorney Representation
- Divorce attorney with 25+ years of experience
- Pay in two installments instead of all at once
- Court Costs Separate**
- Serving your needs in this difficult time with compassion
Always a Free Consultation
Call us during business hours at 702-420-7052. Or complete the contact form below. We're here for you!
* Court filing fees and administrative court costs add up to $328 for joint petition divorce ($342 with children), and $364 for a Complaint for Divorce. Cost of process service and publication (when the other party won’t sign or cannot be found) is additional. U.S. average cost is $160 for process service ($125 in urban Nevada); publication $150. Process service outside the US.: costs vary by country and are individual to each case.