Discount Las Vegas Attorney
PHONE: 702.420.7052
TEXT: 702.306.0696
Discount Divorce Services Cheap Las Vegas Divorce Lawyer
Conexa Legal Services - Divorce, Annulment, Living Trust, Bankruptcy Attorney Discount Las Vegas Attorney
Divorce - For Current Nevada Residents And Those Who Wish To Establish Residency
(Both Parties Sign)
Full Service - WE DO THE FILING
  • Attorney Representation
  • Children $425
  • Only half up front
(1 Signature)
Full Service - WE DO THE FILING
  • Attorney Representation
  • Children $655
  • Only half up front

Joint Petition Divorce (two signatures)

  • In Nevada, a divorce is often filed in the form of a Joint Petition for Divorce (NRS 125.182)  when both parties agree to a divorce. A Joint Petition is the simplest way to file and obtain a Nevada divorce when both parties agree to all terms of the divorce, including child custody, child support, visitation, and property division (if applicable).
  • Both parties must sign the Joint Petition for Nevada Divorce and the Nevada Decree of Divorce. Once the Joint Petition and Decree has been signed and notarized, the Nevada Joint Petition for Divorce is filed with the Court and the Decree submitted for the signature of the judge assigned to your case. Once the judge signs the Decree, the clerk files it and your divorce becomes final.Another necessary document that must be filed before the judge will sign your Decree is the Resident Witness Affidavit, a sworn affidavit by another Nevada resident. Your divorce can be obtained in as little as one week using a Joint Petition.

To find out quickly if you are eligible for a Nevada divorce, visit our faq's page here

Nevada Divorce Complaint (one signature)

In the case of a one-signature Nevada divorce, one party acts as Plaintiff (the person who signs the Complaint for Nevada Divorce), and serves the other party (we arrange a process server for you) who becomes the Defendant.

In some cases, the Defendant ignores receipt of the Nevada Divorce Complaint and does nothing, in which case the divorce continues as an uncontested Nevada Divorce matter. If this occurs, a Default is filed with the court on Day 22 after the date of personal service (through a process server) or after the last date of the publication of the Summons if the Defendant could not be found by the process server.

Once the Default is granted, the Decree of Divorce is submitted for the judge's signature. Once the judge signs the Decree of Divorce, and the clerk files it, your Nevada divorce becomes final.

If your divorce develops as above, it is still considered an uncontested Nevada divorce.
If the Defendant files an Answer denying the allegations in the Complaint for Nevada Divorce, the divorce is now considered contested (see the column just to the right of this under "When is a Nevada Divorce contested?" for details). In this case, a court hearing often becomes necessary. You may attend the court hearing on your own and plead your own case. We recommend that you hire a competent and experienced lawyer who practices Nevada family law, at this point, in order to protect your rights. Mr. Smith is available to continue as your attorney of record on your contested Nevada divorce.

When you cannot locate your spouse:
If you cannot locate your spouse, you may still obtain a Nevada divorce through a default process. This involves attempted service, by a process server, on your spouse at the last-known address, followed by publication of the Summons in a newspaper if the process server could not find your spouse and therefore could not serve the Nevada Divorce Complaint and Summons for your Nevada divorce to your spouse.

Once your spouse has been properly served either in person or by publication, a Default may be entered on Day 22 after the date of service or last date of publication. Once the Default is granted, your Decree of Divorce can be submitted for your judge's signature on the Nevada Decree of Divorce. Once the Decree is filed by the court clerk, your Nevada divorce is final.


Start a Complaint for Divorce


Nevada divorce Residency Requirements(resident witness affidavit)

  • At least one of the parties in a Nevada divorce must have resided in Nevada for a minimum of six-weeks before filing either a Joint Petition Divorce, or a Complaint for Divorce.
  • The Court requires proof of your residency in the form of a Resident Witness Affidavit. The person who signs this Affidavit in front of a notary must be another Nevada resident who knows you to have lived in Nevada for a minimum of six weeks before the date your divorce is filed.
  • If your divorce is not granted, you will be refunded the fee for our attorney services
  • 100% success record
  • Attorney James E. Smith has been providing divorce services in Nevada for the past 24 years.
  • Pay only half the cost now.
  • Your divorce documents ready to sign in front of our notary within 24 hours or less.
  • Prompt response to your phone calls and your e-mail queries.
  • Dedication to truly serving your needs with compassion, to the best of our ability and power.
* Court Fees (currently $326 for Joint Petition, and $355 for a Complaint for Divorce) and cost of process service and publication (when the other party won't sign or cannot be found) is additional: process service in the U.S. average cost is $125; publication average $125. Out of country service costs vary by country and are individual to each case.

Conexa, LLC, 7251 W. Lake Mead Blvd. STE 300, Las Vegas, Nevada 89128
© 2011 All rights reserved.